Eventure Media presented the Rushlight Awards in their 10th anniversary year at a lively Awards Party on Wednesday night at the Royal College of Surgeons of England, Lincoln’s Inn Fields, London.  Attended by organizations that are leading the way in clean technology innovation and sustainable solution deployment, investors, advisers, specialist and general media, trade associations and government departments, the party followed the very successful Rushlight Show where over 500 delegates listened to Nick Hurd, Minister of State for Business, Energy & Industrial Strategy, open the Cleantech Innovation Showcase; Clive Maxwell, Director General Energy Transformation at BEIS, at the UK Energy Seminar; and toured the Exhibition, incorporating the Innovate UK Energy Catalyst Round 2 Showcase and the Enterprise Ireland Pavilion.


Prof John Loughhead, Chief Scientific Adviser to BEIS, UK Head of Mission Innovation and the guest of honour at the Awards Party, having been a judge of the Rushlight Awards in its early years, reflected on past winners and the evolution of the sector over the 10 years of the awards.


Clive Hall, Founder of the Rushlight Awards, commented: “Innovation is a key driver for growth across our green economy and beyond, helping us find new ways to manage our environmental footprint, reduce costs and help put our businesses on a more sustainable footing. The progress that has been made over the last 10 years has been achieved through the successes of organisations such as those we are celebrating and promoting tonight.”


The overall winner was ITM Power for their design and technological development of excess renewable energy storage systems.  The excess renewable energy is used to generate hydrogen gas, which can then either be injected into the natural gas grid, offering a power-to-gas energy storage solution, or the gas can be used to refuel fuel cell electric vehicles (FCEVs).  Both applications help to reduce fossil fuel dependence, fuel deliveries and environmental impact.


The other group category winners were:

  1. Enviga Geothermal Ltd for their geothermal energy solutions based on screw piles acting as both building foundations and thermal energy collectors and dissipators, forming a key part of a renewable energy heating system.
  2. Reactive Technologies Ltd for their Grid Data Measurement System (GDMS), a ground-breaking communications platform that can cost-effectively send and receive digital messages throughout electricity networks and through network transformers. GDMS allows electrical devices, ranging from industrial chillers to energy storage, to participate in Demand Side Response (DSR) without the need for an internet/cellular connection nor an advanced interface, which would otherwise make the rollout of DSR financially prohibitive.
  3. Nextek Ltd has developed a new way of rapidly sorting packaging based on intelligent labels with invisible markers that can be detected and sorted using existing high-speed optical sorting systems used in MRFs with minor modifications.  Unlike existing NIR sorting systems, this technology uses commercial labeling and decoration methods to sort targeted streams including food-contact plastics, bioplastics, chemical packaging, automotive plastics, black plastics and different grades of one plastic. This technique has the potential to create new recycling loops for food grade PP, milk bottle sorting and PET products.
  4. The Greenhouse Project.  The project provides a sustainable, innovative solution to the present high fossil fuel consumption and related high carbon emissions of the protected cropping industry by developing a low-cost, energy saving, climate control greenhouse system, including effective photovoltaic heat insulation solar glass, vacuum insulation panels and LED lights to achieve the temperature and lighting levels required for maximum crop productivity independent of the season. In particular, solar energy is harnessed by integrated PV modules to generate electric power, both for lighting and to drive a heat pump for charging an underground thermal energy storage medium with an innovative insulation.


The complete list of Rushlight Awards winners is set out below:


The Rushlight Award Overall Winner:   ITM Power


Group categories  Winner:
Rushlight Natural Energy Award Enviga Geothermal Ltd 
Rushlight Clean Energy Award ITM Power 
Rushlight Energy Environmental Award Reactive Technologies Ltd
Rushlight Resource Innovation Award Nextek Ltd
Rushlight Environmental Management Award The Greenhouse Project


Direct entry categories      Winner:
Rushlight Solar Award Onyx Solar Energy SL
Rushlight Ground & Air Source Power Award Enviga Geothermal Ltd
Rushlight Wind Power Award GreenSpur Renewables
Rushlight Marine & Hydro Energy Award European Marine Energy Centre
Rushlight Hydrogen & Fuel Cells Award ITM Power
Rushlight Power Gen and Transmission Award BasePower Ltd
Rushlight Energy Reduction Award High Performance Sports Ltd
Rushlight Energy Efficiency Award Reactive Technologies Ltd
Rushlight Water Treatment Award Perceptive Engineering Ltd
Rushlight Organic Resource Award BIOTELos Ltd
Rushlight Resource Recycling Award Nextek Ltd
Rushlight Clean Environment Award Smart Separations Ltd
Rushlight Responsible Product or Service Award Aquapak Polymers Ltd
Rushlight Sust Manufacturing & Services Award Revaluetech Ltd
Rushlight Sust Agric, Forestry & Biodiversity Award South East Water
Rushlight Environmental Analysis & Metrology Award Oxford Environmental Tools
Rushlight Sustainability Initiative Award Cleanweb Ltd